Red Sox 25-man roster in the last quarter century

Fun little challenge – picking a 25 man team over the last 25 years


I recently came across an article where Baseball Prospectus’ Russell Carleton created a fun challenge for baseball enthusiasts.  The challenge? “Pick one franchise. One guy from each of the last 25 years. No repeated players. Must form a coherent 25-man. Don’t cheat on positions. Go. 1/20/17 11:19AM”


As both a sports and baseball fan, I didn’t want to rush a challenge, especially one involving baseball. Besides, this could be pretty fun. I get to create a beastly 25-man Boston Red Sox squad? Yes please. No Sox players can be named twice. Damn. It would have been awesome having two Pedro’s and or two Big Papi’s. Then again, that would have been too easy. This was supposed to be challenging. Obviously, there were a few no brainers, Curt Schilling in ’04, Pedro Martinez’s historic ’99 campaign, Manny Ramirez in ’05, and of course David Ortiz in ’06.


From then on to make the puzzle fit, I thought about the players that had stand out seasons and plugged them in. This didn’t come without dealing with a few challenges. I don’t remember the Red Sox players too well in 1992. The baseball strike in 1994 and 1995 didn’t help either. Luckily, some of those players lasted until the later 90’s making for some rather obvious choices.


This was my take on it. I think this is a pretty solid roster and I’m happy with the final results. Love to hear your thoughts and ideas on your 25 for the Sox or any team. I put a link at the bottom listing a batting order and pitching staff for fun.


I’d love to hear your thoughts about my 25 and challenge you to do the same if you’re passionate about the Sox too!

Red Sox 25-man over last 25 years – Batting Order & Pitching Staff

2016 – Mookie Betts (RF)
2015 – Xander Bogaerts (SS)
2014 – Junichi Tazawa (RP)
2013 – Koji Uehara (CP)
2012 – Scott Atchison (RP)
2011 – Jacoby Ellsbury (CF)
2010 – Jon Lester (SP)
2009 – Jon Papelbon (CP)
2008 – Dustin Pedroia (2B)
2007 – Mike Lowell – (3B)
2006 – David Ortiz – (DH)
2005 – Manny Ramirez (LF)
2004 – Curt Schilling (SP)
2003 – Jason Varitek ( C )
2002 – Tim Wakefield (RP)
2001 – Trot Nixon (RF)
2000 – Nomar Garciaparra (SS)
1999 – Pedro Martinez (SP)
1998 – Tom Gordon (CP)
1997 – John Valentin (2B)
1996 – Mike Stanley ( C )
1995 – Mo Vaughn (1B)
1994 – Otis Nixon (CF)
1993 – Aaron Sele (SP)
1992 – Roger Clemens (SP)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s